Thirty Seven?

My apologies for neglecting this journal for the past few days or so. Finished up the remainder of school and passed the exams and classes I needed to and am now enjoying the free time brought forth by Summer. Not constantly waking up at 5:30 AM is a rather pleasant privilege I am growing fond of. At the moment, I’m simply taking a break. Reading, watching films, sleeping, and catching up on old tasks seems to be my main focus at the moment. Finding another job is becoming my next main thing to focus on due to complications in past endeavors.

In terms of the film industry, nothing of relevant interest is really at the theater this weekend. “You Don’t Mess with the Zohan” might be filled with a few laughs and I’ll more than likely give it a shot. Speed Racer recently departed from the theaters in my area and I unfortunately never was able to attend a screening. Looks like I’ll be viewing the Wachowski Brother’s latest film on DVD in a few months. Next weekend brings the release of The Incredible Hulk which looks fairly impressive and I can not wait to see it. The Happening also hits as well and I’m not completely sold on the film. I find the concept intriguing and usually dig Shyamalan’s films. I’ll more than likely give the film a shot regardless of my uncertainty.

Next week also brings the highly acclaimed release of Metal Gear Solid 4 from the mind of Hideo Kojima and his company known as Kojima Productions. I’m really intrigued with the Metal Gear Solid series and enjoyed Metal Gear Solid 3 and look forward to this epic conclusion. The game hits stores on June 12th and I will be one of the many busy sifting through the various aspects MGS is known for (story, characters, etc). Next game after MGS to really catch my interest is Spore (PC). The video game industry is receding into a Summer drought that won’t subside until this Fall with the emergence of many hits. Though there might be some surprises scattered here and there to keep gamers busy until then…

Lately, I’ve been reading a lot of Chuck Palahniuk’s work. His style is rather interesting and he brings forth odd yet somehow realistic stories laced with comedy, social commentaries, and values as well. Two of his novels known as “Choke” and “Fight Club” have been adapted into feature length films. Choke is scheduled to be released in limited theaters on September 26th, 2008 while Fight Club can be found in the form of a DVD in a majority of major retailers. His latest work is known as “Snuff” and was released at the end of this past May. I’ve yet to pick up the novel but have heard intriguing things about it. Pick up one of his novels sometime if you ever feel inclined to read a gritty yet engaging story.

In regards to reviews, I’ll be uploading my take on The Strangers within the next couple of days. The Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull review was removed due to some much needed alterations and should be returning momentarily now be back up as of right now. Expect a review of The Incredible Hulk to emerge next weekend as well… And thus the first post for the month of June for the year 2008 ends…

“Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted.”
– Albert Einstein (1879-1955)
Leave a Reply

